Under the Shadow

He greets me as soon as I am there, wherever it is we meet. He smiles big as he guides me to each member of his family to ensure love is shared all around. He hears what I am saying even though his focus is on the tech toy. Age 11 is Marty’s banner year, he is reading voraciously, he is writing clear messages. He is shaving! I am happy for the amazing strides in his abilities, at his growth because I know the pride held in his heart. He is so content in the presence of loved ones, and I wish that contentment carries him through those times he walks the hallways at school alone.

Today we sat together at church. He repeated each Amen. He watched his brothers and sister interact with other children but was content at my side. We shared smiles and giggles. Viewing his incredible effort with a complicated coloring app he held out to show me. There was a call for prayer and reflection, as I prayed, he snuggled in quietly. No longer able to sit on my lap; he rested his head on my shoulder. With my arm around him and his hand on mine, we shared a moment under the shadow of God’s wings.

Published by

Poetry Road/Marty Goes to Mars

Poetry storage, genealogy research and tribute to my grandson with Down Syndrome . Creativity is my outlet--expressions in acrylics, accomplished quilter and writer. Please visit my shop sites. Thank you for stopping in!

Leave a comment