Marty Turns Eight

My grandson will be eight years old soon.  It has been too long since I have written about him to encourage other grandparents that Down Syndrome is not a negative in one’s life. It is a beautiful life but sometimes life also gets in the way.

Still Mr. Incredible in my book, Marty faces challenges with a rugged determination; he loves with his entire heart, he is a learner yet he is not a language user.  But he speaks in other ways–mainly through his heart, sign language and a glance and smile. He knows how to work every technical gizmo in his home.  He wins hearts with his dimples and knows how to make a person laugh.  To include others, he motions to come with me and he shows you what you need.  He finds his own way.

He has a great group of supporters yet sometimes is left out.  There are times when he chooses not to participate, especially in the rain. I have high hopes for him and I try to show him there are moments for just us two.  He treasures those moments and returns the love.  So Happy 8th Birthday Marty, you are important, you do matter, and I love you with all of my heart!

About Poetry Road/Marty Goes to Mars

Poetry storage, genealogy research and tribute to my grandson with Down Syndrome . Creativity is my outlet--expressions in acrylics, accomplished quilter , doll maker and writer. Please visit my shop sites. Thank you for stopping in!
This entry was posted in Chapter 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

